What Is Subaru Standard Warranty

What Is Subaru Standard Warranty?

Subaru is known for manufacturing high-quality cars with outstanding safety features and advanced technology. With the purchase of a new Subaru, you will get a standard warranty that provides peace of mind in case something goes wrong. In this article, we will explain what the Subaru standard warranty covers, what it doesn’t cover, and how long it lasts.

Basic Coverage

The Subaru standard warranty covers defects in workmanship and materials for three years or 36,000 miles, whichever comes first. This warranty protects your vehicle against any defects that may occur during the manufacturing or assembly process, such as faulty air conditioning, power steering, or electrical systems.

Powertrain Coverage

In addition to basic coverage, Subaru also provides a powertrain warranty that covers major components in the engine and transmission. This warranty covers up to five years or 60,000 miles, whichever comes first. The components covered include the engine block, cylinder heads, and all internal parts that require lubrication.

Other Coverage

Subaru also offers a few other types of warranties that include the following:

  • Extended Warranty: This warranty can be purchased at an additional cost, and it extends the original basic and powertrain coverage by up to 10 years or 100,000 miles.
  • Rust Perforation Warranty: Subaru provides a warranty against any rust that occurs due to perforation in the body of the vehicle for five years with unlimited mileage.
  • Wear Item Warranty: This warranty covers items that are expected to wear out quickly, such as brake pads, wiper blades, and clutch linings. It covers these parts for three years or 36,000 miles.

What Isn’t Covered?

While the Subaru standard warranty covers many parts and components, it does not cover damage or defects that are caused by abuse, neglect, or improper maintenance. It also does not cover routine maintenance, such as oil changes, tire rotations, or brake pads replacement.


In short, the Subaru standard warranty provides comprehensive coverage for three years or 36,000 miles, whichever comes first. It covers defects in workmanship and materials and protects your car against major engine and transmission issues. However, it’s essential to note that routine maintenance and damages caused by neglect or abuse are not covered. By understanding what is and isn’t covered, you can make informed decisions about your Subaru’s maintenance and repairs.

Leave a Comment